Resources on Dharma and Climate Change

 

Buddhist and Interfaith Ecological Organizations

Ecological Buddhism: A Buddhist Response to Global Warming:www.ecobuddhism.org

Forum on Religion and Ecology: http://fore.research.yale.edu/religion/buddhism/ (excellent newsletter)

Green Sangha: www.greensangha.org

Interfaith Moral Action on Climate: http://www.interfaithactiononclimatechange.org/

One Earth Sangha: http://www.oneearthsangha.org/. See especially, The Earth As Witness: International

   Dharma Teachers Collaborative Statement About Climate Change on the website           

              

Local San Francisco Bay Area Organizations Working on Climate Change

Berkeley Climate Action Coalition: http://ecologycenter.org/climatecoalition/

City of Berkeley Climate Action Plan: http://www.cityofberkeley.info/climate/

Breakthrough Communities: http://www.breakthroughcommunities.info/index.htm

The Buddhist Peace Fellowship: http://www.buddhistpeacefellowship.org/

The Ecology Center (Berkeley, California): http://www.ecologycenter.org/: Climate Change Project, contact Debra Berliner, 510-548-2220, ext. 240 (conducts workshops for individuals, organizations)

Transition West Marin: http://www.transitionus.org/stories/welcome-transition-west-marin,

   Sustainable Fairfax: http://www.sustainablefairfax.org/, Transition Berkeley:

   http://www.transitionberkeley.com/, Transition Network: http://www.transitionnetwork.org/

 

Climate Change Organizations and Climate Change Web Sites (a sampling) 

Center for Biological Diversity: http://www.biologicaldiversity.org/index.html

Climate Justice Alliance: http://movementgeneration.org/climate-justice-alliance-our-power-campaign/

Climate Justice Initiative (NAACP): http://www.naacp.org/programs/entry/climate-justice

Climate Parents: http://www.climateparents.org/

The Climate Reality Project (Al Gore): http://climaterealityproject.org/

Earth Policy Institute: http://www.earth-policy.org/

Friends of the Earth: www.foe.org

Greenpeace: www.greenpeace.org

The Heat is On(line): http://www.heatisonline.org/main.cfm

The Resource Innovation Group: http://www.theresourceinnovationgroup.org/ (see climate programs)

350.org: www.350.org; 350 Bay Area: http://local.350.org/350-bay-area/

 

Books on Climate Change (a selection)

Anthony, Carl. The Earth, the City, and the Hidden Narrative of Race (forthcoming).

Brown, Lester. World on the Edge: How to Prevent Environmental and Economic Collapse. Norton, 2011.

Gershon, David. Low Carbon Diet: A 30-Day Program to Lose 5000 Pounds—Be Part of the Global

   Warming Solution! Empowerment Institute, 2006 (3rd ed.).

Gore, Al.  An Inconvenient Truth: The Planetary Emergence of Global Warming and What We Can Do

   about It. Rodale Books, 2006.

______. Our Choice: A Plan to Solve the Climate Crisis. Rodale Books, 2009.

Henson, Robert. The Rough Guide to Climate Change. Rough Guides, 2011 (3rd Ed.).

Hertsgaard, Mark. Hot! Living Through the Next Fifty Years on Earth. Mariner Books, 2012.

Hopkins, Rob. The Transition Handbook. Transition Books, 2008.

______. The Transition Companion: Making Your Community More Resilient in Uncertain Times.

   Transition Books, 2011.

Klein, Naomi. This Changes Everything: Capitalism Vs. The Climate. Simon & Schuster, 2014.

McKibben, Bill. Eaarth: Making a Life on a Tough New Planet. MacMillan, 2010.

 

Books on Dharma, Ecology, Climate Change (a selection)

Badiner, Allan Hunt (ed.). Dharma Gaia: A Harvest of Essays in Buddhism and Ecology. Parallax, 1990.

Coleman, Mark. Awake in the Wild. Inner Oceans Publishing, 2006.

Doppelt, Bob. From Me to We: The Five Transformational Commitments Required to Rescue the Planet,

    Your Organization, and Your Life. Greenleaf Publishing, 2012.

Gottlieb, Roger (ed.). This Sacred Earth: Religion, Nature, Environment. Routledge, 2003 (rev. ed.).  A

   large collection of sources from many spiritual traditions.

Kaza, Stephanie.  Mindfully Green: A Personal & Spiritual Guide to Whole Earth Thinking. Redwing, 2008.

Kaza, Stephanie, and Kenneth Kraft (eds.). Dharma Rain: Sources of Buddhist Environmentalism.

    Shambhala Publications, 1999.

Macy, Joanna. Coming Back to Life: Practices to Reconnect Our Lives and World. New Society, 1998.

Macy, Joanna, and Chris Johnstone. Active Hope: How to Face the Mess We’re In Without Going Crazy.

  New WorldLibrary, 2012.

Snyder, Gary. The Practice of the Wild. North Point Press, 1990.

Stanley, John, David R. Loy and Gyurme Dorje (eds.). A Buddhist Response to the Climate Emergency.

   Wisdom Publications, 2009.

Vaughn-Lee,Llewellyn (ed.). Spiritual Ecology: The Cry of the Earth. Golden Sufi Center, 2013. Interfaith.

  

Some Talks on Dharma Seed Related to Climate Change and Dharma

Responses to Climate Change: Awareness, Action, and Celebration: Spirit Rock Earth Day Daylong, 4-20-

   13 [includes talks by James Baraz, Bob Doppelt, Paul Hawken, Joanna Macy, Malcolm Margolin,

   Donald Rothberg, and Nina Wise].

Loving the Earth: Awareness, Action and Celebration: Spirit Rock Earth Day Daylong, 4-20-14 [includes

   talks by Ayya Anandabodhi, Ayya Santacitta, Ayya Santussika Jack Kornfield, Margarita Loinaz, David

   Loy, Wes Nisker, and Donald Rothberg].

Ayya Anandabodhi. The Brahmavihara and the Climate Challenge, 7-11-13.

Ayya Santacitta. Learning from Climate Change, 7-12-13.

James Baraz. Appropriate Response at the Tipping Point: Concern for the Planet as Dharma Practice:

   Four Talks: 6-14-12, 6-28-12, 7-5-12, 7-19-12. Other talks: 1-16-14, 1-23-14.

Brach, Tara. (On Climate Change) Earth’s Crisis - On the Edge of the Roof, 9-17-14.

Dicapua, Chas. The Dharma of Global Climate Change, 7-30-13.

Doppelt, Bob. From Me to We. 2-7-13

Loy, David. Healing Ecology: A Buddhist Perspective on the Ecocrisis, 6-7-11; Buddhism and Ecology,

   5-27-12; The Eco-Crisis as a Spiritual Crisis, 4-20-14.

Macy, Joanna. For the Sake of Life on Earth, 7-24-11; Climate, Capitalism & Buddhadharma, 11-21-13.

Rothberg, Donald. Dharma Practice and the Climate Crisis. 4-17-13. Other talks: 10-2-13, 10-8-14.

Thanissara. Practice and Climate Change. 5-13-14

Vivekananda, U. Buddhist Perspective on Climate Change, 6-23-14.

[Thanks to Sara Schedler for help with preparing an earlier version of this resource list. (Rev. 7: 10-7-14)]